MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

honeypot link

Introduction to Amphibians


Brent R. Whitaker

, MS, DVM, University of Maryland, Institute of Marine and Environmental Technology

Last full review/revision Jan 2020 | Content last modified Feb 2020
Topic Resources

There are many different types of amphibians, including frogs, toads, salamanders, and newts.

There are many different types of amphibians, including frogs, toads, salamanders, and newts.

The word amphibian comes from the Greek word for “double-life,” referring to the fact that amphibians start life in water breathing through gills before maturing into lung-breathing land animals, although most never stray too far from water. The class Amphibia is composed of only 3 orders. The order Anura, a word that refers to tailless amphibians, includes frogs and toads (see Table: Similarities and Differences Between Frogs and Toads). This is the largest order, with more than 3,500 species. The order Caudata, or amphibians with tails—salamanders, newts, and sirens—has about 375 species (see Table: Some Common Salamanders and Newts). The Gymnophiona order is made up of caecilians: legless, tailless amphibians that spend most of their time burrowing. It has about 160 species.


Similarities and Differences Between Frogs and Toads






Both hatch from eggs

Lay eggs in clusters

Lay eggs in chains

Young have gills

Teeth in upper jaw

Have no teeth

Adults have lungs

Moist, smooth skin

Dry, lumpy skin

Young live in water



Bulging eyes

Eyes do not protrude


Some Common Salamanders and Newts




Tiger salamander (Ambystoma tigrinum)

Western-central Canada south to Mexico and east and north to Long Island, New York; sandy soils; common as pets

Varies according to type; can be up to 12 inches (31 centimeters)

Axolotl salamander (Ambystoma mexicanum)

Native to Xochimilco and Chalco lakes, Mexico City; strictly aquatic; common as pets

8 to 11 inches (20 to 28 centimeters)

Marbled salamander (Ambystoma opacum)

Southern New England and west to parts of Texas, Illinois, Oklahoma, and south to north Florida; variety of habitats

Up to 4.25 inches (11 centimeters) in length

Redback salamander (Plethodon cinereus)

Canada, northern United States to Midwest; woodland

Small: 2.6 to 4.9 in (6.5 to 12.5 cm)

Seal salamander (Desmognathus monticola)

Southwestern Pennsylvania to Georgia and Alabama; streams, ravines, and similar habitat

Size varies

Blackbelly and shovelnose salamanders (Desmognathus quadramaculatus, D marmoratus)

Appalachia; springs and streams

Medium to large

Two-lined and Junaluska salamanders (Eurycea bislineata, E junaluska)

Eastern half of North America

Small: up to 4.7 inches (12 centimeters)

Eastern or red-spotted newt (Notophthalmus viridescens)

Eastern half of North America, southern Canada, Texas, Oklahoma, Florida; watery areas


California newt (Taricha torosa)

California, west coast of United States

Up to 8 inches (20 centimeters)

Rough-skinned Oregon newt (Taricha granulosa)

Coastal Pacific northwest from southeast Alaska to San Francisco, California; aquatic or woodlands

5 to 8.5 inches (13 to 22 centimeters)

Fire-bellied newt (Cynops pyrrhogastea)

China and Japan; however, they are commonly bred and kept as pets

Varies; generally from 3 to 5 inches (8 to 13 centimeters)

For More Information

  • Also see professional content regarding amphibians.

Others also read
Download the Manuals App iOS ANDROID
Download the Manuals App iOS ANDROID
Download the Manuals App iOS ANDROID

Test your knowledge

Disorders of Calcium Metabolism
Calcium, in its ionic form, plays a key role in the function of many body systems. Precise control of calcium ion concentrations in extracellular fluids is regulated by several hormones. Which of the following is NOT involved in calcium homeostasis?
Become a Pro at using our website 

Also of Interest

Become a Pro at using our website