MSD Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

honeypot link

Overview of Marine Mammals


Michael K. Stoskopf

, DVM, PhD, DACZM, College of Veterinary Medicine, North Carolina State University

Last full review/revision Oct 2015 | Content last modified Jun 2016

Marine mammals are a diverse group of species that include cetaceans, pinnipeds, sirenians, sea otters, and polar bears. The cetaceans consist of two major groups with different physiology and anatomy: toothed whales (Odontocetes) and baleen whales (Mysticetes). The pinnipeds consist of three major groups: true seals (Phocidae), eared seals (Otariidae), and walruses (Odobenidae). Sirenians (Sirenidae) are of a single family that includes manatees and dugongs. The sea otter (Enhydra lutris) is a marine member of the Mustelidae, and the polar bear (Ursus maritimus) is the only member of the Ursidae that is considered marine.

Few pharmaceuticals or vaccines are approved for use in marine mammals. Many recommendations can be made based on personal experience or published reports, but clinicians should be cautious in their application.

Others also read
Download the Manuals App iOS ANDROID
Download the Manuals App iOS ANDROID
Download the Manuals App iOS ANDROID
Test your knowledge
It is important that potential owners understand the life expectancy of a species before acquiring a pet. What is the typical life expectancy for a guinea pig? 
Become a Pro at using our website 

Also of Interest

Become a Pro at using our website